Page 43 - MarketTimesJune2014
P. 43

  Market Times • June 2014
President’s plea — help the federation help traders
 MICHAEL NICHOLSON, President of the National Market Traders Federation, called on members to encourage fellow traders to support the NMTF, the only representative body for market traders in the UK, to help boost the industry.
“It is essential that we all make our voice heard,” he told the federation’s 115th Annual General
Meeting of the Council.
Michael praised the work and
value of federation branches. “I recently attended two meetings where traders really appreciate the value of branches,” he said.
“Both said they were virtually ignored by the operator until they formed a branch, but within a few days of the operator being informed, their attitude to the
traders completely changed.” Michael commented on the effectiveness of federation initiatives including First Pitch, Making Markets Matter, and last
year’s roadshows.
He stressed the value of the
federation’s political lobbying activities, and thanked his federation colleagues and his wife, Diane, for their support.
Michael Nicholson President, National Market Traders Federation
Darlington and Coventry are top fundraisers for Benevolent Fund
 DARLINGTON branch of the National Market Traders Federation was awarded the Trustees Trophy for the branch with less than 100 members that
raised the most for the Benevolent Fund last year.
And Coventry Branch topped the table for branches with more than 100 members.
June Draper, Honorary Treasurer and Benevolent Fund Committee Chairman, accepted the trophy on behalf of Darlington, and Tracie Turnbull, Executive Board member and Vice-Chairman of the
branch, received the award for Coventry.
The Trustees Trophies were initiated by the late Terry Meakin, a Past President and Benevolent Fund Committee chairman.
  Beverley bags George Bailey award
BEVERLEY was awarded the George Bailey Shield for the branch with the largest increase in membership. John Dyson, President-Elect and Secretary of the Beverley branch, did the honours and received the trophy.
June Draper receiving the Trustees Trophy from Michael Nicholson
Michael Nicholson, Eric Tweed, Tracie Turnbull and June Draper

   41   42   43   44   45